2007 Award Recipients

In 2007, the award was given to the organizations the participated in the harmonization effort that lead to the development of the 2006 National Quality Forum Safe Practices for Better Healthcare. It was received on behalf of the organizations by their leaders.

Donald M. Berwick, MD

Former President and CEO
Former Administrator of U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Carolyn M. Clancy, MD

Former Director, Agency for Healthcare
Research and Quality,
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC, USA

Janet M. Corrigan, PhD

Former President and CEO of The National Quality Forum
Washington DC

Peter B. Angood, MD

Former Vice President and Chief Patient Safety Officer
Joint Commission

Suzanne F. Delbanco, PhD

Former Executive Director
The Leapfrog Group

2012 Award Recipients

At a TMIT global safety summit in 2012, the award was given to individuals who had delivered extraordinary service in patient safety. They were instrumental in the research and development of safe practices that continue to be gifts that keep giving to our nation and around the world.

James P. Bagian, MD

Former Director of VA
National Center for Patient Safety

J. Michael Henderson, MD

Former Chief Medical Officer Cleveland Clinic

David C. Classen, MD

CMIO, Pascal Metrics
Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Utah
Active Consultant in Infectious Diseases
Former Director for Quality Mayo Clinic
The University of Utah School of Medicine

Stephen Swensen, MD

Medical Director for Professionalism and Peer Support
Intermountain Healthcare
Senior Fellow of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Co-Lead, Joy in Work Initiative
Former Director of Quality Mayo Clinic

David R. Hunt, MD

Medical Officer, Office of Provider Adoption and Support
Office of the Secretary, Office of the National Coordinator
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

2014 Award Recipients

In 2014, the award was given to a group of national consumer advocates. Among their numerous accomplishments, these individuals have written and published peer-reviewed medical articles, co-authored The National Quality Forum Safe Practices for Better Healthcare. They were honored for their perseverance in championing the cause of patient safety for over a decade.

Dan Ford

Voluntary Patient Safety Advocate
Spectrum Health EPFAC and Hospital Group Board Quality & Safety Committee Member
TMIT Patient Advocate Team Member
Retired Healthcare Executive Search Consultant
Veteran, Naval Aviation, Vietnam War

Arlene Salamendra

Former Board Member and Staff Coordinator, Families Advocating Injury Reduction (FAIR)
TMIT Patient Advocate Team Member

Becky Martins

Founder, Voice4Patients.com
Former TMIT Patient Advocate Team Member

Jennifer Dingman

Founder, Persons United Limiting Substandards and Errors in Healthcare (PULSE), Colorado Division
Co-founder, PULSE American Division
TMIT Patient Advocate Team Member

Mary E. Foley, PhD

Clinical Professor, UCSF School of Nursing
Director, Center for Nursing Research and Innovation
Assistant Director for the Master’s Entry Program in Nursing
University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)

Patti O’Regan, ARNP

Nurse Practitioner
TMIT Patient Advocate Team Member

2018 Awardees

The 2018 award winners are both individuals and a team.  Sorrel King, Sue Sheridan, and Heather Foster are individual champions for patient safety who have exhibited the courage, faith, and tenacity to speak truth to power on behalf of patients after tragic deaths and harm to families.  The Med Tac team are being honored for their role in empowering bystanders to deliver lifesaving patient safety assistance in their communities before professional first responders arrive and then to work with them during pre-hospital care.

Sorrel King

Founder Josie King Foundation
Patient Safety Advocate
Best Selling Author

Sue Sheridan, MBA

Former Director Patient Engagement
Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute
Former Patient & Family Engagement Advisor
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Heather Foster, RN

Patient Safety Champion
National Caregiver Advocate

Med Tac Team

Gregory H. Botz, MD

Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
UT – MD Anderson Cancer Center
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor,
Department Anesthesiology
Stanford University Medical School

William Adcox, MBA

Chief of Police and Chief Security Officer
MD Anderson
Cancer Center and The University of Texas

David Beshk

Award Winning Educator
Med Tac School Program Leader
Scout Program Mentor

Perry Bechtle, III

University of Florida
College Program Leader
Eagle Scout Mentor

Charlie Denham, III

Middle School Student
Founder of Med Tac Scouts Program
Junior Med Tac Instructor

C. R. Denham, II, MD

CEO, HCC Corporation
Chairman, TMIT